The Sporty platform automatically merges records if someone is added with enough matching details for the system to know it is the same person. However, it must be 100% sure to ensure data integrity and security.
This article shows how you can manually merge records in instances when Sporty has not automatically merged them and you are 100% sure they relate to the same person.
In this article:
- Merge people the system has automatically identified as potential duplicates
- Manually merge people when you're sure they are duplicates (use with caution)
- Unmerge records if you've made a mistake (only available for a limited time after merging)
- FAQs
Merge people the system has identified as potential duplicates
If the details provided with an online registration do not match an existing person exactly enough to be 100% sure of a match to an existing person but are similar enough to suggest a potential duplicate, it will let you know in SuperCRM in two ways:
1. The Duplicates tab under the Relationships section of the person's record.
Click the person's name in SuperCRM to view their Profile. Click the Relationships tab and then Duplicates. If the system has found other people it thinks are potential duplicates, they will be listed here.
Click the Check button and a pop-up window will appear that lets you compare the details for both records and decide whether they are truly a duplicate and should be merged/linked:
Note that this screen appears slightly different for Regional Sports Organisations (RSOs) and National Sports Organisations (NSOs) compared to the way it appears for Clubs/Schools.
If you are confident the two records relate to the same person, select the fields you wish to retain for the merged record and then click the Link button (RSOs/NSOs) or Merge button (Clubs/Schools).
If you aren't sure which details are correct, click Cancel to exit and return later.
If you are confident the two records do not relate to the same person, click Ignore Updates or Not a duplicate.
2. The Potential Duplicates report.
The potential duplicates report is a CSV (Excel) file that supports looser matching rules. For example, it may include results for someone with the same First Name and Last Name even if their Date of Birth is different from one another. It will list any people that have the same First Name, Last Name, and at least one of the following 'person matching' fields:
- Date of Birth
- Email Address
- Phone 1
- Phone 2
- Parent Phone
- Parent Email
To access the Potential Duplicates report, go to SuperCRM and click the Reports link at the top right of your screen. Then click the Potential Duplicates Report from the list on the left of your screen. It will email you the report and include a link you can click for each potential duplicate to view their details and merge them if you wish.
Manually merge people when you're sure they are duplicates
You can force records to merge if you are certain they are the same person. To do this, go into a person's profile in SuperCRM and go to the Relationships tab, then click the Duplicates tab.
In the Manual Search section, enter the Person ID or the Name of the person you wish to merge with the current profile, the click the Search button. It will return the person with that ID or Name. Click the Check button.
It will display a comparison of the details that differ between both people.
If you are certain that both profiles relate to the same person, select which of the differing fields you wish to retain, then click the button to Merge / Accept Updates.
If the system identifies that you are attempting to merge two records where the first name and last name do not match, you will be prompted to confirm the merge by typing the word CONFIRM into the pop up that appears.
IMPORTANT: Ensure you are certain both records relate to the same person before you merge them. Although there is an option to undo your merge, this is only temporary and becomes unavailable once the newly merged person is later changed or updated.
Unmerge or Unlink Person Records
If you've manually merged two people, you will temporarily have the option to unmerge them. This will restore both records to their original state with their last known details for each. This functionality is possible only up until changes or updates have been made to the merged record.
To unmerge/unlink a merged record, go to the person's profile in SuperCRM, click the Relationships tab and then select the Duplicates tab.
Note: the process will be called a 'Merge/Unmerge' if the two original people were from the same organisation. If they were from different organisations, the process will be called a 'Link/Unlink'.
Click Unmerge or Unlink. A pop-up window will show any merged details that had been updated since the merge and if any registration records will be moved back to the original person.
Click Unmerge or Unlink to complete the process.
FAQs
Q: Why is a person not displaying as a Potential Duplicate when I can see them in the SuperCRM twice?
A: If a person has registered with the same name but a different Date of Birth on each record, the Date of Birth will firstly need to be updated to match before it is deemed to be a Potential Duplicate in the SuperCRM profile area.
Due to eligibility rules, clubs are generally unable to change a person's Date of Birth. If you meet this limitation, contact Sporty support or your governing body for assistance.
Q: Why can I not perform a merge on a person that has more than one username?
A: Usernames allow people to login with Sporty and it is possible that a person could have a different username for each of their records in Sporty. Therefore, you cannot merge the people until one of the usernames is deleted. This can be done in the username screen, click here for more information.