If your organisation uses Sporty forms, there is an easy way to send a group email to a database of people that sends each person their own unique 'magic link' to let them complete a new form where their know details are automatically pre-filled with their details.
This magic link method is commonly used to invite people to re-register for a new season or a new holiday program. This magic link opens the new web form with their details from the previous database already visible, so it saves the person from having to re-enter known details. They simply check their pre-filled details are correct and answer any new questions, then submit the form (and make payment if required).
Sending invitations to your database
Navigate to the Online Registrations tile - found in the Dashboard. Click on the email button beside the form/database you want to send the magic link to.
Note: If you have not already created your new form, simply copy an existing form - this will save time by copying all the question fields for you. It will also link the new form to the existing/old form, which is necessary for the email button to be available to send the magic links for you.
Clicking on the email button will open a pop-up window. Here you are able to alter the text that gets sent with each email - it's a good place to include information about season start dates, registration fees, or contact information. When ready, click Send email and this will send each person that was registered in the existing/old form/database a unique link they can click to reach your new form, already pre-filled with their details.
When people click the magic link in their email it will open the new form, pre-filled with their information from the previous season. They can update their details, make payment (if you have enabled this option), and submit their registration online. Once submitted, they will now appear in your database for the new season.
View the database associated with a form by clicking selecting it from the Online Registrations tile. When viewing your a database, people that have already re-registered into a new (linked) form will be highlighted in green.
Note that you can exclude people from receiving the bulk email with the magic link if you wish, by firstly unticking the Email checkbox to prevent that person from being emailed (see image below).
With Online Registrations, you are able to invite your database to re-register as many times as you wish. If people have already re-registered they will not be sent a second invitation - it is only sent to those who have not registered on the new form.
Sending an invitation to an individual
If there is a specific person you would like to invite to re-register without inviting the entire database, simply select the form in Online Registrations to view the list of registrants, then click the envelope icon to the right of the person's name.
This will open up a dialogue box showing the name of the person that the invite will be sent to (Sarah Betty in this example). You can then personalise the message before sending.
How registrants can unsubscribe from invitations to re-register
When an organisation invites a database back to re-register, an email is sent to existing members. If a member no longer wishes to register with the organisation, they are able to unsubscribe by clicking on the unsubscribe link at the bottom of the email. They will then no longer receive emails from the organisation.