You can email people in your database a unique “magic link”. The link opens a registration form that’s already filled in with their existing details, so all they need to do is check, update and submit.
Because no login is needed, magic links remove the most common barrier to re-registering: forgotten usernames and passwords.
Every year, more than 500,000 people use a Sporty magic link to re-register for a new season or sign up for a holiday programme or event. There are several ways your organisation can send magic links from Sporty.
Sending invitation from SuperCRM
Send a magic link to members to re-register via SuperCRM. Instructions for this are here.
Sending invitation from Online Registrations
You would use the method to re-register from Online Registrations for two reasons i) if you do not have access/subscribe to SuperCRM (if you are unsure if you should have SuperCRM access please contact support@sportsground.com, or, ii) if you are inviting a database back to re-register for the new season. For example you are inviting your 2024 database back to re-register to 2025.
Steps are:
1. Go to your Dashboard, then click the Online Registrations tile.
2. Locate the previous season/years form/database and click the email icon. This must be the previous years form/database.
Note: If you are not inviting people to re-register to a Superform supplied by your National body, and you have not already created your new form, simply copy an existing form (click the copy icon) - this will save time by copying all the question fields for you. It will also link the new form to the existing/old form, which is necessary for the email button to be available to send the magic links for you.
3. Clicking on the email button will open a pop-up window. Here you are able to alter the text that gets sent with each email - it's a good place to include information about season start dates, registration fees, or contact information.
4. When ready, click Send email and this will send each person that was registered in the existing/old form/database a unique magic link.
When people click the magic link in their email it will open the new form, pre-filled with their information from the previous season. They can update their details, make payment (if you have enabled this option), then submit their registration. Once submitted, they will now appear in your database for the new season.
When you then view the previous seasons database, people that have already re-registered into the new (linked) form will be highlighted in green. This gives you a visual indication on people who have not re-registered.
Note: You can exclude people from receiving the bulk email with the magic link if you wish, by firstly unticking the Email checkbox to prevent that person from being emailed (see image below).
Via this method, you are able to invite your database to re-register as many times as you wish. If people have already re-registered they will not be sent a second invitation - it is only sent to those who have not registered on the new form.
Sending an invitation with a magic link to an individual
If there is a specific person you would like to invite to re-register without inviting the entire database, simply select the form in Online Registrations to view the list of registrants, then click the envelope icon to the right of the person's name.
This will open up a dialogue box showing the name of the person that the invite will be sent to. You can then personalise the message before sending.
How registrants can unsubscribe from invitations to re-register
All invitations to re-register contain an unsubscribe link. If a member no longer wishes to register with the organisation, they are able to unsubscribe. They will then no longer receive emails from the organisation.