Online Support Centre

Follow

Data backups

We are sometimes asked about data backups and what happens if you accidentally delete data such as website content or registration records.

Website content

Most website content is managed by the display of 'widgets'. Widgets are content blocks that allow you to select the content type such as Text, Image, YouTube video, etc. In almost all instances other than for the Text widget, the widget is simply a container for data being stored elsewhere. For example, the Image widget is simply displaying an image from your image repository (gallery) on a page. Deleting the widget does not delete the underlying image. You can safely delete the widget and easily reinstate it by reselecting the image from your gallery. For the Text widget, since text is typed directly into the widget, it will be lost if you subsequently delete the widget. Therefore, if you have lengthy articles or textual content that may be cumbersome for you to recreate, we recommend drafting these in another application such as Word or Google Docs so you can keep your own back-up of your text.

Note that the Sporty system does perform automatic backups to protect the platform against accidental data corruption or system issues on a rolling basis for up to 35 days. These backups are not available to you and require a Sporty developer with appropriate login access credentials to manage. We could  therefore technically perform a point-in-time restore of data for some time after it was deleted. However, there can be a significant cost associated with the developer time needed to perform this work if it is required.

Registration records

If you delete a registration record, the data cannot be recovered by you, nor by our helpdesk or operational staff. However, the Sporty platform performs automatic backups to protect databases against accidental data corruption or deletion for up to 35 days. Therefore a Sporty developer with appropriate login access credentials could technically perform a point-in-time restore of data for some time after it was deleted. However, there can be a significant cost associated with the developer time needed to perform this work if it is required.

Please remember also that you or anyone else with login access to your database can export registration data to a CSV file and it is then beyond our control how you or they store that file or restrict access to it, including any local backups or copies of data that was subsequently deleted on the Sporty platform. If an export was performed by you prior to a registration record being deleted, the relevant data will remain in the export file. If you are contemplating permanent deletion of data, we encourage you to develop your own policy in relation to the way data is used and stored. You should also familiarise yourself with the Data Privacy Act 2020 and ensure that you only store data for as long as it is needed and for the purposes for which it was provided. If you are unsure, please obtain independent advice.

 

More reading: Data Security Advisory and Privacy Policy.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments